Quick Apple Galette

This was just way too easy. I ran across a frozen sheet of pie dough in the freezer. I don’t usually buy pre-made dough, but for some reason, I had caved and bought a two-pack, then froze the other one. I decided it was time to use it up. I must say, this recipe is one I’ll keep in my back pocket for anytime I need a last-minute dessert.

I didn’t bother with a recipe. I just laid out the crust, peeled a large gala apple and sliced it, then spread the apple slices around the interior of the crust, leaving about a 2″ margin. I then sprinkled the apples with brown sugar (2 tbsp) and cinnamon (1 tsp), and dotted the surface with bits of butter (2 tbsp). I folded the sides up over the apples, then brushed the edges with an egg white. I finished by sprinkling the whole thing with raw sugar. The entire process took about 5 minutes. I didn’t even think to take pictures, as it didn’t seem like anything special.

I baked the galette in a 350 degree oven for 30 minutes. When it came out, I was amazed at how good it looked, after so little effort. And it was delicious! I must say, this is something I’ll need to explore more, especially with homemade crust. I have a few pears from my farmshare that would be perfect. I’ll post the pear version with more photos as soon as I get it made!

7 Comments

Filed under Dessert

7 responses to “Quick Apple Galette

  1. Awesome easy-but-fancy dessert!

  2. Joan Spencer

    Gosh, I swear I could smell the cinnamon and apples when I saw the photo!
    Beautiful photo, you learned a lot from your weekend retreat. Mom

  3. Perfect! Nothing beats a simple galette like this!! And I love your photos. It was so nice meeting you yesterday!

  4. Cris Polk

    So, I have extra phyllo in my freezer…how would you change the recipe to deal with that? I want to make one for my Book Group right away!
    You’re so creative. Go Girl!
    Cris

    • Becky from Kitchen Solo

      I think it would work fine to use phyllo…I’d probably use about 5-6 sheets (at least–use your judgement on what looks right), and brush a layer of melted butter on each sheet as you lay them down. I’d recommend putting it all on parchment paper or a silpat sheet, as it will be more difficult to move than with a regular crust. You would probably want to do more of a rectangular shape, but you could use the same basic technique. I’d recommend leaving a bit bigger border to fold, as it will be more delicate. I hope it works well! Please let me know how it goes 🙂

  5. Cris Polk

    Thanks, Becky, it was delicious. I used 8 sheets…could have used 10-12 for a “thicker crust”. There was none left!

Leave a Reply

